Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Electronic Diff Locker ???

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

Electronic Diff Locker ???

Hi Everyone. I am a newbie to the off road world so my question may be purely naive. I just bought a 2008 Rubicon Unlimited that was stock with front and rear locking differentials. When I press the button twice to engage both lockers (while in 4wd low) the lights on my instrument cluster flash until the lockers are engaged (presumably). As soon as I slowly move either forward or in reverse the lights just begin flashing again. Does anyone have any idea why the lockers would not stay engaged? Any and all help would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    1 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)

While I don't have a Jeep (I've a 4runner) I do occasionally experience the same thing with my locking center differential. (It's an AWD / 4WD capability). Sometimes I'll need to move the truck up or back again to get the differential to lock up permanently. In doing a quick search on the Jeep forums, it looks like thy have a similar matter on the front and rear. Do you have separate lights for front and rear, or just one? There are Quire a few Jeepers here so hopefully thy can offer a bit more input.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Post Thanks / Like
    Mentioned
    5 Post(s)
    Tagged
    0 Thread(s)
    Hello Michael!

I have some info for you. My brother has a 2007 Rubicon and had a similar issue, since he cares not for learning anything about 4x4 and loves to go wheeling, I am left fixing his Rubicon more often than not. Therefore, I know more about the Rubicon than I need. Just note, I am no expert on specific Jeep components or operations.